The sanskrit word for chakra translates to wheel or disk. In yoga, meditation, Ayurvedic and Buddhist philosophy chakras are wheels of energy throughout the body.

There are 7 main chakras beginning at the base of the spine and moving through to the crown of the head. The chakras are places of energy concentration where matter and consciousness meet. The energy is vital force called prana, which helps us to be healthy, vital and energised.

‘These swirling wheels of energy correspond to massive nerve centres in the body. Each of the seven main chakras contains bundles of nerves and major organs as well as our psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being. Since everything is moving, it’s essential that our seven main chakras stay open, aligned, and fluid. If there is a blockage, energy cannot flow.’

Michell Fondin-The chopra Centre

The 7 chakras

  1. The Root Chakra/Muladhara
  2. The Sacral Chakra/Svadhisthana
  3. The Solar Plexus Chakra/Manipura
  4. The Heart Chakra/Anahata
  5. The Throat Chakra/Vishuddha
  6. The Third Eye – Ajna
  7. The Crown Chakra/Sahaswara